Mehreen leaned against the Mocktail bar, a spicy mango concoction in her hand. 

Aiden walked over. “Hey Mehreen.” 

She tried not to stare at his slim, straight physique in a light gray suit with a skinny black tie.

“H-hey.” Mehreen straightened up. “Good, how are you? I mean…”

Aiden either ignored her awkward reply or didn’t hear it. “Thanks for helping write our skit! I appreciate the jokes you DM’ed to Mohammad.”

Mehreen nodded. “Oh yeah of course! I was happy to help you guys.”

Mian ran up to them. “Mehreen! Great skit writing! Now why don’t you join the dance?”

Mehreen laughed and shook her head. “Oh, no. That is all you.”

“Well, this is a mehndi. You gotta dance sometime!”

Mehreen held up her mocktail. “You know what, I drank too much of this, I better head to the-”

Mian pulled Aiden towards the dance floor. “Aiden, you’re a groomsman, you have to bhangra tonight!”

Aiden shrugged at Mehreen. “I better go dance. I managed to avoid the choreographed number, but I can’t hide from the flash mob.”

“Have fun.” Mehreen called after him.

She headed to the bathroom to silently scream in a stall.

#FallWritingFrenzy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.